« PreviousContinue »
and that such an order would require a larger sum of money to be taken from the contingent fund than could well be spared for this purpose,
the resolution was therefore amended by Senator Ingalls by the addition of the words “from time to time and the resolution, thus amended and passed, is as follows:
" Resolved, That marble busts of those who have been Vice Presidents of the United States shall be placed in the vacant niches of the Senate Chamber from time to time; that the Architect of the Capitol is authorizeci, subject to the advice and approval of the Senate Committee on the Library, to carry into execution the object of this resolution, and the expenses incurred in doing so shall be paid out of the contingent fund of the Senate.
On January 6, 1898, the above resolution was amended by striking out the words“ vacant niches of the Senate Chamber” and inserting in lieu thereof " Senate wing of the Capitol.” This amendment be
came necessary in order that places might be assigned for busts of Vice Presidents after the niches in the Senate Chamber, 20 in number, had been filled.
In the gallery of the Senate Chamber the visitor entering from one of the south doors of the gallery will find that on the north side of the gallery there are 6 busts, on the east side of the gallery 4 busts, on the south side of the gallery 6 busts, and on the west side of the gallery 4 busts.
The arrangement is as follows: On the north side of the gallery from west to east, Eldridge Gerry, Aaron Burr, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, George Clinton, and Daniel D. Tompkins.
On the east side commencing at the north the busts are as follows: Martin Van Buren, John Tyler, Millard Fillmore, and John C. Breckinridge.
On the south side of the gallery commencing at the east end the busts are as follows: Andrew Johnson, William A. Wheeler, Thomas A. Hendricks, Chester A. Arthur, Schuyler Colfax, and Hannibal Hamlin.
On the west side commencing at the south the busts are: William R. King, George M. Dallas, Richard M. Johnson, and John C. Calhoun.
In the south corridor a row of busts of Vice Presidents have been placed on the north side of the corridor. Commencing on the west end of the corridor the busts are: Charles W. Fairbanks, Garret C. Hobart, Levi P. Morton, Adlai E. Stevenson, Theodore Roosevelt, James S. Sherman.
In a niche in the east Senate corridor on the north side of the corridor is the bust of Thomas R. Marshall, the last bust added to the collection, at the time this is written.
Thus far the location of 27 busts have been mentioned, 20 in the gallery of the Senate Chamber, 6 in the south corridor of the Senate, and 1 in the east corridor of the Senate. The location of the bust of Vice President Henry Wilson, in the room of the Vice President, completes the list of the location of the 28 busts of Vice Presidents in the Senate wing of the Capitol.
It will be noticed that in the original resolution of Senator Ingalls it seemed to be the intention to provide not only busts of Vice Presidents but of Presidents pro tempore; this intent failed in the final resolution as adopted; there is, however, in the room of the Vice President a marble bust of Lafayette S. Foster, of Connecticut, who was elected President pro tempore March 7, 1865, and served until March 2, 1867. The bust, the work of the sculptor Charles Calverly, is the only instance of a bust in honor of a President pro tempore in the Senate wing of the Capitol.
List of busts of Vice Presidents of the United States in the Senate Chamber and
the Senate wing of the Capitol
Period of service
Name of sculptor
1 John Adams.
Massachusetts.... Apr. 30, 1789-Mar. 3, 1797 Daniel Chester French. 2 Thomas Jetierson. Virginia..
Mar. 4, 1797- Mar. 3, 1801 Sir Moses Ezekiel. 3 Aaron Burr.
Mar. 4, 1801-Mar. 3, 1805 Jacques Jouvenal. George Clinton.
Mar. 4, 1805- Apr. 20.18121 Vittorio A. Ciani, 5 Elbridge Gerry..
Massachusetts. Mar. 4,1813-Nov. 23, 18141 Herbert Adarns. 6 Daniel D. Tompkins.. New York.
Mar. 4, 1817-Mar 3, 1825 Charles II. Niehaus. 7 John C. Calhoun.. South Carolina.. Mar. 4, 1825-Dec. 28, 18322 Theodore A. Mills. 8 Martin Van Buren.. New York.
Mar. 4, 1833-Mar. 3, 1837 U.S. J. Dunbar. 9 Richard M. Johnson Kentucky.
Mar. 4, 1837-Mar. 3, 1841 James P. Voorhees. 10 John Tyler
Mar. 4,1841- pr. 4, 1841 Wm. C. McCauslin. 11 George M. Dallas Pennsylvania Mar. 4,1845-Mar. 3,1849 Henry J. Ellicott. 12 Millard Fillmore
Mar. 5, 1849-July 9,1850 Robert Cushing. 13 William R. King.
Mar. 4, 1853- Apr. 18,18531 Wm. C. McCauslin. 14 John C. Breckinridge. Kentucky
Mar. 4, 1857-Mar. 3, 1861 James P. Voorhees. 15 Hannibal Hamlin. Maine
Mar. 4, 1861-Mar. 3, 1865 Franklin Simmons. 16 Andrew Johnson
Mar. 4, 1865-Apr. 15, 1865 Wm. C. McCauslin, 17 Schuyler Colfax.. Indiana
Mar. 4, 1869-Mar. 3,1 73 Frances M. Goodwin. 18 Henry Wilson
Massachusetts. Mar. 4. 1873-Nov. 22, 18751 Daniel Chester French, 19 William A. Wheeler. New York
Mar. 5, 1877-Mar. 3, 1881 Edward C. Potter. 20 Chester A. Arthur
Mar. 4, 1881-Sept. 19, 1881 Augustus Saint-Gaudens. 21 Thomas A. Hendricks. Indiana
Mar. 4, 1885-Nov. 25, 18851 U'. S. J. Dunbar. 22 Levi P. Morion... New York.
Mar. 4, 1889 Mar. 3, 1893 F. Edwin Elwell. 23 Adlai E. Stevenson. Illinois.
Mar. 4, 1893-Mar. 3, 1897 Franklin Simmons. 24 Garret A. IIobart, New Jersey
Mar. 4, 1897-Nov. 21, 18991 F. Edwin Elwell. 25 Theodore Roosevelt. New York
Mar. 4, 1901-Sept. 14, 1901 James Fraser. 26 Charles W. Fairbanks. Indiana
Mar. 4, 1905-Mar. 3, 1909 Franklin Simmons. James S, Sherman. New York
Mar. 4. 1909-Oct. 30, 19121 Bessie Potter Vonnoh. 28 Thomas R. Marshall... Indiana.
Mar. 4, 1913-Mar, 3, 1921 ! Moses
CAPITOL POWER PLANT
Activities at the Capitol power plant in the nature of improveinents have not been as numerous during the fiscal year 1927 as during the fiscal year just previous. However, the improvements which have been installed and put in operation during the fiscal year 1927 have accomplished the desired end of a reduction in cost of maintenance and an increase in cur system of economy.
A concrete tunnel was built under the Jersey yards of the Pennsylvania Railroad to accommodate the new 36-inch circulating water main from the Anacostia River. This project was attempted to protect this water main against possible destruction by heavy freight trains passing through the yard. Several failures in the main had occurred as a result of the passing of these trains prior to the construction of this concrete tunnel; but since its completion no major defects in the line at this point have resulted. When a break would occur it put the Government to a great expense. Extraordinary precautions had to be taken in order that the trains of the railroad could keep moving Extra labor had to be employed night and day, and at the same time resulting in a decrease in efficiency at the power plant. All this expense has been saved since the construction of the concrete tunnel.
Two new motor-driven centrifugal pumps have been installed in connection with the feed-water treatment plant, each pump having a capacity of 1,000 gallons per minute. The necessary piping, valves, fittings, etc., were also installed to take care of the maximum operation of the power plant.
One new electric-driven hauling machine was installed to handle coal cars on the power-plant siding. The covering over the railroad track coal scales was renewed and extended so as to protect the men while unloading coal cars during inclement weather, and also to help keep the coal dry so that it could be stored for a long period without fear of fire from spontaneous combustion.
Two new 6-inch double offset expansion U bends were installed in the main heating steam line passing through the basement of the House Office Building to the Botanic Gardens, replacing two 6-inch slip type expansion joints. This improvement was made due to the danger of destroying by leakage of the old joints of a large quantity of records stored in spaces through which this line passes.
Six new transformers were installed in the power plant to take care of any increased load, together with expanded metal guards around these transformers. New sheet-metal fire doors and frames were installed on the ash alley entrance to the plant.
The main engine room and basement to the main engine room were painted with two coats of white paint. The walls and ceilings of the auxiliary engine room and ash" alleyways were coated with white cement wash. Such improvements have greatly increased the inside appearance of the plant.
Repairs and running maintenance on the boiler turbines, etc., such as relining the boilers, fitting new grates in the same, overhauling stoker gear, stoker engines, forced-draft fans, pumps, etc., were included in the accomplished program for improvements during the fiscal year 1927.
The coal and ash handling machinery was thoroughly overhauled and one new motor was installed in the west ash hoist. New lighting fixtures and wiring were installed in the coal-bunker spaces.
The bank of earth at the rear of the power plant, running along Virginia Avenue, was graded and driveways and approaches straightened out, allowing more parking space and adding to the outside appearance of the building. The District government laid a new cement sidewalk in front of the plant from South Capitol Street to New Jersey Avenue.
Plans and specifications were prepared for one new 6,250 k. v. a. bleeder type turbo generator to be used in the power plant.
A new brick addition with a tin roof was made to the power-plant building 12 by 20 feet, for the purpose of coal handling. Copper tanks and 42 metal ventilating boxes were made by the Capitol sheetmetal shop and installed throughout the power plant.
Each fiscal year adds more efficiency and development to the Capitol power plant, and whenever a defect in operation or an opportunity to reduce the cost of maintenance presents itself steps are immediately taken after careful investigation to correct the same. All work in the past year has proceeded without interruption or any inconvenience to the various buildings supplied with heat, light, and power. The plant is considered to be in first-class condition and will during the coming winter months carry its maximum load.
ELECTRICAL WORK COMPLETED IN THE UNITED STATES CAPITOL DURING
FISCAL YEAR 1927
The work of the electrical department under the architect's office in the Capitol Building during the fiscal year 1927 included approximately 30 different jobs, in addition to the usual work attended to by that department.
The work in addition to the ordinary duties consisted of the following jobs: 47 new lamp-posts were installed on the terrace and wired; new lead cables were installed for the House and Senate mains; all the old lamp-posts on the House terrace were rewired; 5 new lampposts were installed in the northeast section of the grounds.
The House engineer's rooms were rewired and 5 new electric fixtures and 5 reflectors were hung in the same. The House public restaurant was rewired and conduits and wires were run in the same, but no fixtures have been installed as yet. The House lobby and both cloak rooms were rewired. Seven new lighting fixtures were installed in the Committee on Accounts (House of Representatives) in the three rooms, but did not rewire. Installed switches and receptacles in the Committee on Indian Affairs (House of Representatives). A banking fixture was installed in the Sergeant at Arms' office of the House and 2 brackets were installed over the desk. A new switch cabinet was installed in the stairway near elevator No. 3 (old building, House side). The Republican whip's office was rewired and a new lighting fixture was hung in the same; wired for 1 telephone and 6 receptacles in conduit and also installed 2 side outlets and 1 bracket over mirror. Conduits were run and wiring and cabinets were installed in terrace rooms of the House for lights on terrace for both old and new lamp-posts. Ten new steel reflectors were hung in the shops, House terrace.
A banking fixture was installed in the disbursing office of the Senate and new receptacles and switches were installed and partly rewired (ceiling yet to be done). The chandeliers for the night lights in the Senate corridors were rewired. New fuse cabinets were installed on the Senate side near the engineer's department to control the disbursing office, Committee on Appropriations, Committee on Foreign Relations, and the Senate barber shop. The page-boys' room of the Senate was rewired. The elevator room and corridor in the basement from the elevator to the Senate subway were also rewired. Several switches were installed in the Senate corridors.
SENATE OFFICE BUILDING
During the past fiscal year the number of rooms at the Senate Office Building has been increased by the addition of four new rooms. The building now contains 308 rooms.
Two large rooms and a corridor on the B Street (court) side of the building were remodeled to form two 3-room suites. These rooms are of good size, requiring in the remodeling the use of 2,000 square feet of 4-inch terra-cotta tile, 7,200 square feet of plastering, 12 mahogany doors, with frames and trim, baseboards, etc., and necessary plumbing, electric equipment, carpenter work, and rough and finished hardware. These suites are now known as Nos. 110 and 112.
Two other three-room suites were arranged by cutting doors between 241 and 245 and doing away with 243. These rooms were supplied during the remodeling with mahogany doors, frames and trim, marble border around flooring, window shades, etc.
In five lavatories on the first floor marble flooring was put in place, and elevator landings on the first floor (Nos. 110 and 112) B Street side were painted.
On the subway floor, Delaware Avenue side, four rooms were put in readiness for offices for the captain of the Capitol police, the rooms painted, three radiators put in place, and washbowls installed.
In the heater room the steam boiler was furnished with new tubes, the rotary pump repaired, and a complete overhauling given to the ice-water system, the hot-water system, and the pump, and all necessary repairs made.
New cloth tops were supplied to 10 tables for committee rooms; the floors of the stationery rooms were covered with linoleum; rubber matting laid in the Senate post oflice; 32 lounges, 166 chairs, and 8 foot rests were covered; and 12 bookcases, 10 stenographer's chairs, 16 costumers, 1 lat-top desk, 10 screens, 41 rugs, 10 library tables, 10 window shades, 10 typewriter tables, 24 desk lamps, 20 metal stands for typewriters. 24 sections of file cases, and 10 secretary's chairs were furnished to various offices throughout the building.
Other repairs and changes have been made as follows: General repairs to the copper roof, down spouts, and gutters; a fire-proof door to the entrance of the steam tunnel in the heating room installed. Metal hoods have been placed over the steam tables in the dining room of the Senate Office Building.